The Five Love Languages: Physical Touch

The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate

By: Gary Chapman


Affection can be defined as tender feelings of love that are expressed to another person. Notice that there are two parts to the definition: (1) tender feelings of love and (2) expressing those feelings to another person. Showing affection is a necessary way to honor and nurture one another. It helps keep love flourishing in your relationship. Affection in marriage needs to be deliberately maintained. Just as you work to improve your relationship with the Lord on a daily basis, you need to work to improve your relationship with your spouse on a daily basis.
We have long known the emotional power of physical touch. That’s why we pick up babies and touch them tenderly. Long before an infant understands the meaning of the word love, he or she feels loved by physical touch.In marriage, the love language of physical touch includes everything from putting a hand on your mate’s shoulder as you walk by, touching his or her leg as you’re driving together, and holding hands while you’re walking to kissing, embracing and sexual intercourse. If physical touch is your spouse’s primary love language, nothing communicates love more clearly than for you to take the initiative to reach out and touch your mate.


Support the Author! Buy The Book!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close